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Administrative 

Act 176 [R.S. 9:2621] Allows agencies that offer online applications for licenses or permits to accept online 
certification in lieu of sworn statements. Effective June 7, 2013. 

Act 184 [R.S. 3:3712] abolishes the Louisiana Bio-Fuel Panel and transfers its functions to the commissioner of 
agriculture and forestry. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 191 [R.S. 47:1517.1] Requires each state agency that administers tax credits and rebates to submit a report 
annually to the legislature. The report shall provide an assessment of each tax incentive. The report is due on the 
first day of March of each year.  The Department of Revenue shall provide the form to be used by all agencies. 
Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 265 [R.S. 47: 6016.1] creates the New Markets Jobs Act which provides for a tax credit against the 
insurance premium tax. Applicants must apply to the Department of Revenue for certification of a qualified 
equity investment on a form prescribed by the secretary. There is a fifty five million dollar investment cap on 
the program to be issued on a first-come, first-served basis. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 315 Requires government issued identification for cashing state tax refund checks over $1,000. Requires 
institutions cashing the checks to maintain detailed records of such transactions. Effective November 1, 2013. 

Act 370 [R.S. 40:4.9] expands the Sanitary Code exemption for of jellies, preserves, jams, honey, and 
honeycomb products which are made at home for sale to certain preparers of cakes and cookies prepared at 
home for sale. Removes the provision that required the Department of Revenue to provide the Department of 
Health and Hospitals with information regarding preparers of jellies, preserves, jams, honey, and honeycomb 
products which are made at home for sale, with sales of $5,000 or more. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 387 [R.S. 51:935.1] amends provisions of the unified economic development budget report. Requires that 
the report be issued annually and that every program administered by the Department of Economic 
Development be reviewed at least once every four years. Requires the Department of Revenue and the 
Workforce Commission to submit data to the Department of Economic Development upon request for 
preparation of the unified economic development budget report. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 394 [R.S. R.S. 30:2454(32), 2483(E), 2484-2487] reduces the amount of oil spill contingency fee to 1/4 of 
one cent per barrel (1/2 of one cent when the fund balance is below five million dollars until the fund balance 
reaches seven million dollars). Changes the payor of the fee from the owner of the crude oil when the oil is 
transferred at a marine terminal to the owner of the oil immediately prior to transfer to a refinery or storage 
facility. Removes the limitation on expenditures from Oil Spill Contingency Fund. Additionally the Act requires 
the Oil Spill Contingency Council to study the fee structure and recommend a fee mechanism and structure that 
fairly balances oil spill risks and potential oil spill implications with fee payments, no later than January 31, 
2014. Changes to the current fee are effective July 1, 2014.  

Act 399 creates the Office of Debt Recovery within the Louisiana Department of Revenue. It will be responsible 
for collection of a tax and delinquent debts of other state agencies. State agencies will refer debt to the Office of 
Debt Recovery or the Attorney General’s Office as provided by statute. The department may treat the delinquent 
debt as an assessment that has become final and may use state remedies provided by state law to facilitate the 
collection of taxes to collect the delinquent debt. Effective June 17, 2013. 

Act 421 authorizes the Department of Revenue to institute an amnesty program for each of 2013, 2014 and 
2015. This year’s amnesty program begins on September 23 2013, and ends November 22, 2013.  All taxes and 
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periods are eligible for amnesty except for Motor Fuel Taxes, Prepaid 411 Sales Tax, NOEH, Hotel/Motel, Oil 
Field Restoration-oil, Oil Field Restoration-gas, Inspection and Supervision Fee and penalties for failure to 
submit information reports that are not based on an underpayment of tax. If the Taxpayer pays all of the tax and 
costs, if applicable, and half of the outstanding interest balance due, the remaining half of the interest and all of 
the penalties associated with the tax periods for which amnesty is applied will be waived. Taxpayers who are 
involved in audits, litigation, or bankruptcy or who have installment agreements are eligible to participate. 
Taxpayers who are a party to any criminal investigation or criminal litigation are not eligible for amnesty. 
Taxpayers are not eligible for both Amnesty and a Voluntary Disclosure Agreement for the same tax type and 
same tax period. Taxpayers who deliver or disclose any false or fraudulent application, document, return, or 
other statement to the department in connection with an amnesty application shall be ineligible for amnesty and 
shall be subject to the fraud penalty under R.S. 47:1604, which provides a penalty of 50 percent of the additional 
tax due, or a penalty of $10,000, whichever is greater. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 435 provides for a proposed amendment to the State Constitution to require tax rebates, tax incentives and 
tax abatements to only be considered during fiscal sessions or odd number years. The proposed amendment shall 
be submitted for a vote of the people on November 4, 2014. Effective 20 days after the Governor certifies 
election results if approved by the voters. 

SR 96 requests the commissioner of agriculture to create the Louisiana Wine Agribusiness Task Force within 
the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, to examine the growing wine making market and business in the 
state. The Secretary of Revenue, or his designee, is required to be a member of this task force. The task force 
findings are to be reported to House and Senate Agricultural committees no later than March 1 each year.  

Alcohol and Tobacco Control 

Act 221 amends and reenacts several statutes in Titles 13, 26 and 47 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes. The new 
requirements are the result of a recent settlement entered into between the State of Louisiana and certain tobacco 
product manufacturers. As a result, the State of Louisiana has agreed to enhance past tobacco enforcement 
practices. The Act requires the Attorney General, Department of Revenue, and Office of Alcohol and Tobacco 
Control to designate employees who shall oversee the administration and enforcement of the laws and 
regulations regarding the Master Settlement Agreement (“MSA”) and who shall meet monthly to establish and 
monitor practices to promote ongoing compliance under the MSA. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 252 [R.S. 26:80(A) (11), (B), and (C) (2)] amends provisions of the state and local permitting requirements 
for qualification of obtain high alcohol beverage permits. Provides that a "spouse" includes persons who are 
considered married outside of the United States, persons who ordinarily hold themselves out as husband and 
wife, or persons who file their state and federal income tax returns as either "married filing jointly" or "married 
filing separate". Effective June 12, 2013. 

Act 430 [R.S. 15:541.1(A)(3), (B), (C)(1), (D), and 26:96(A)] provides that the Department of Revenue and the 
Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control will provide certain establishments information regarding the National 
Human Trafficking Resource Center hotline.  Failure to post such information will result in a fine being 
assessed. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Corporation Income and Franchise Taxes 

Act 141 [R.S. 51:1783(10) and (12)] amends definitions provided for in the Louisiana Enterprise Zone Act. The 
definition of “multifamily residential housing” was changed to increase the number of attached dwellings from 
two hundred to three hundred attached dwelling units. The definition of “transit-oriented development” was 
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changed to increase the square footage for commercial or retail facilities from fifteen thousand to twenty 
thousand. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 178 [R.S. 47:6007] amends the Motion Picture tax credit program to require a production audit report and to 
provide a definition of a production audit report. Changes the recipient of the credit transfer fee from Louisiana 
Economic Development to the Louisiana Department of Revenue and shortens the time for reporting credit 
transfers from thirty days to ten days. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 197 [R.S. 47:6034] amends several provisions of the Musical and Theatrical Production Income tax credit 
program including repealing a portion of the program that provides for the credit for qualified transportation cost 
for performance-related property and credits for projects for nonprofit community theaters. The credit program 
was extended from December 31, 2013 to December 31, 2022. Additionally, the definition of infrastructure 
projects certified after July 1, 2013 was changes to a “new or rehabilitated proscenium or black box theatre 
infrastructure project located in Louisiana and any expenditure in the state directly related to the constructions, 
repair or renovation of such project”. Effective July 1, 2013. 

Act 219 [R.S. 47:6035(C)] provides that nothing in the current law is to be construed to authorize a tax credit for 
the cost of a purchase of, or conversion of a vehicle to, a flexible fuel vehicle that is designed to run on an 
alternative fuel and either petroleum gasoline or petroleum diesel if the vehicle has only a single fuel storage and 
delivery system and retains the capability to be propelled by petroleum gasoline or petroleum diesel. Effective 
June 10, 2013. 

Act 257 [R.S. 47:6015] amends the Research and Development tax credit program mainly to require business 
with less than 50 employees to submit a report by a certified public accountant relative to the business’s 
qualified research expenses.  The act also provides a new eligibility requirement for business primarily engaged 
in professional services and custom manufacturing and fabrication if the business has a U.S. patent issued or 
pending which is directly related to research expenditures for which the credit is sought. Effective on July 1, 
2013 for tax years beginning January 1, 2013. 

Act 263 [R.S. 47:6019] extends the tax credit program for historic structures from January 1, 2016 to 2018 and 
changed the total five million dollar limit on the credit claimed by a taxpayer to an annual five million dollar 
limit to be claimed by the taxpayer. Effective June 13, 2013. 

Act 304 [R.S. 47:6026(E)(1)] extends the Cane River Heritage Tax Credit to January 1, 2018. It was set to 
expire January 1, 2014. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 341 [R.S. 47:246(E) and 287.86(B)(1)] authorizes a five year net operating loss carryback for corporations, 
if the loss is attributable to Hurricane Isaac. The Act only becomes effective if the federal government grants a 
similar benefit to taxpayers under federal income tax law. Effective for taxable periods beginning August 1, 
2011, and thereafter. 

Act 385 [R.S. 6023(C) (1)] extends the Sound Recording Investor Tax Credit program which was set to sunset 
January 1, 2015. The credit program was extended to January 1, 2020.  Additionally, for state –certified 
productions certified on and after July 1, 2007 and state-certified infrastructure projects which have applied on 
or before August 1, 2009 the investment minimum is reduced to five thousand dollars for Louisiana residents. 
Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 406 amends the School Readiness tax credit provisions to provide for a state administrator of the Child Care 
Development Fund. The program will no longer be administered by the Department of Children and Family 
Services. Effective July 1, 2013. 
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Act 418 [R.S. 47:1574] provides for a centralized registration and recordation system for transferable tax credits 
otherwise known as the Louisiana Tax Credit Registry Act. Beginning January 1, 2014, all state agencies issuing 
tax credits to be applied against tax collected by the department shall send a copy of the tax credit certificate to 
the department. The department will assign an identification number to each certification.  Notices of transfer of 
credits must also be sent to the department for recordation in the registry.  If credits sold after January 1, 2014 is 
not recorded in the registry, the will sale will not be effective against third parties or recognized by the 
department. Effective June 21, 2013. 

Act 423 [R.S. 51:1787 and 1791] amends the employee requirements relative to the Enterprise Zone program.  
Part times jobs are no longer eligible under the program.  The percentage of employees required to meet 
statutory requires was increased from 35% to 50%.  Additional limitations were added for retail businesses. 
Effective June 21, 2013. 

Act 427 [R.S. 47:6035(B) (1)] changes the definition of “alternative fuel” to “natural gas, liquefied petroleum 
gas, and any nonethanol based advanced biofuel. “Alternative fuel” may also mean electricity, if the vehicle 
meets all of the following criteria: (1) the vehicle has at least four wheels; (2) the vehicle is manufactured 
primarily for use on public streets, roads, and highways and is able to attain a maximum speed of at least 55 
miles per hour; and (3) the vehicle is propelled by an electric motor which draws electricity from a battery 
which has a capacity of not less than four kilowatt hours and is capable of being recharged from an external 
source of electricity. Effective for taxable periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014. 

Act 428 [R.S. 47:6030] repeals the tax credit for wind energy systems and changes the tax credit to provide for 
solar electric and solar thermal energy systems. Repeals the tax credit for installations in a residential rental 
apartment complex. Provides for a total phase-out of the credit on January 1, 2018 and amends the amount of 
the tax credit for leased systems, as follows: 

(a) The tax credit shall be equal to fifty percent of the first twenty-five thousand dollars of the cost of 
purchase for a system installed before January 1, 2014 

(b) For a system installed on or after January 1, 2014 and before January 1, 2018, the tax credit shall be 
equal to thirty-eight percent of the first twenty-five thousand dollars of the cost of purchase. 

Provides further limitations on the credit as follows: 
(a) For a system purchased and installed on or after July 1, 2013, and before July 1, 2014, the system shall 

cost no more than four dollars and fifty cents per watt and provide for no more than six kilowatts of 
energy. 

(b) For a system purchased and installed on or after July 1, 2014, and before July 1, 2015, the system shall 
cost no more than three dollars and fifty cents per watt and provide for no more than six kilowatts of 
energy. 

(c) For a system purchased and installed on or after July 1, 2015, and before January 1, 2018, the system 
shall cost no more than two dollars per watt and provide for no more than six kilowatts of energy.    

In addition, provides that systems must be sold and installed by a person who is licensed by the Louisiana State 
Licensing Board for Contractors and any system components purchased on or after July 1, 2013 must be 
compliant with the requirements of the federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA). Any non-
ARRA compliant components purchased before July 1, 2013 must be placed in service prior to January 1, 2014 
to be eligible for the credit. Finally, provides that with respect to each residence, only one tax credit for the 
purchase and installation of a system shall be allowed. Effective July 1, 2013. 

Act 431 [R.S. 47: 6036] amends the Ports Investor and Import-Export Cargo Credit.  Capital Cost eligible for 
the credit must be paid after July 1, 2013. Additionally, the cost of a qualifying project was reduced from five 
million to 1.5 million. The definition of “port or port and port harbor activity was expanded and an annual cap of 
6.25 million for the Investor and the Import-Export Cargo Credit was also added along with other limitations. 
Effective July 1, 2013. 
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Individual Income Tax 

Act 57 [R.S. 47:120.181*] creates a new checkoff for donation of refunds for the Louisiana Coalition Against 
Domestic Violence, Inc. Effective August 1, 2013 for tax years beginning on and after January 1, 2013. 

Act 89 [R.S. 47:120.63] changes the Louisiana Prostate Cancer Checkoff Donation to the Louisiana Cancer 
Checkoff Donation. August 1, 2013 for tax years beginning on and after January 1, 2013.  

Act 167 [R.S. 47:299.2(1)(d)] allows New Orleans and Orleans Parish to make offset claims to the secretary of 
the Department of Revenue against any amounts refundable to an individual because of overpayment of 
Louisiana individual income taxes for debts owed by the individual to either New Orleans or Orleans Parish. 
August 1, 2013 for tax years beginning on and after January 1, 2013. 

Act 194 [R.S. 47:120.181* and 120.191*] provides for an individual income tax return checkoff for decorative 
lighting on the Crescent City Connection.  The Act also provides for an individual income tax return checkoff 
for New Orleans ferries.  Effective for taxable periods beginning on or after January 1, 2013. 

Act 219 [R.S. 47:6035(C)] provides that nothing in the current law is to be construed to authorize a tax credit for 
the cost of a purchase of, or conversion of a vehicle to, a flexible fuel vehicle that is designed to run on an 
alternative fuel and either petroleum gasoline or petroleum diesel if the vehicle has only a single fuel storage and 
delivery system and retains the capability to be propelled by petroleum gasoline or petroleum diesel. Effective 
June 10, 2013. 

Act 272 [R.S. 47:297.6(C)] changes the sunset date for the residential structure rehabilitation credit to January 1, 
2018.   

Act 304 [R.S. 47:6026(E) (1)] extends the Cane River Heritage Tax Credit to January 1, 2018. It was set to 
expire January 1, 2014. 

Act 392 [R.S. 47:120.181* and 120.191*] provides for an individual income tax return checkoff for the 
Louisiana National Guard Honor Guard for military funerals.  The Act also provides for an individual income 
tax return checkoff for the Bastion Community of Resilience.  Effective for taxable periods beginning on or after 
January 1, 2013. 

Act 406 amends the School Readiness tax credit provisions to provide for a state administrator of the Child Care 
Development Fund. The program will no longer be administered by the Department of Children and Family 
Services. Effective July 1, 2013. 

Act 427 [See Act 427 summary under Corporation Income and Franchise Taxes] 

Act 428 [See Act 428 summary under Corporation Income and Franchise Taxes] 
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Sales Tax 

Act 93 [R.S. 47:13] provides that direct pay, sale for resale and manufacturing machinery and equipment sales 
tax exemption certificates will be renewed automatically unless the Department of Revenue determines by 
reviewing its records that the taxpayer no longer qualifies for the exemption or has not met its filing and 
payment obligations. If there is insufficient information in the Department’s records to allow for the automatic 
renewal the taxpayer will be contacted and can reapply for the exemption. Additionally, if the taxpayer no 
longer qualifies for these exemptions the Department can suspend the certificate even if the 3-year exemption 
certificate period has not yet expired. Effective January 1, 2014. 

Act 141 [R.S. 51.1783(10) and (12)] amends definitions provided for in the Louisiana Enterprise Zone Act. The 
definition of “multifamily residential housing” was changed to increase the number of attached dwellings from 
two hundred to three hundred attached dwelling units. The definition of “transit-oriented development” was 
changed to increase the square footage for commercial or retail facilities from fifteen thousand to twenty 
thousand. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 157 [R.S. 47:305.14(C)] for purposes of the existing state and local sales and use tax exemption for sales 
occurring at events sponsored by nonprofit organizations, requires the exemption certificate be obtained 
annually from the secretary of the Department of Revenue. Further provides that the Department of Revenue 
may review such events held pursuant to the authority granted by the exemption certificate to ensure 
compliance. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 158 [R.S. 32:1252(1), R.S. 47:301(17) and R.S. 47:337.15(E)] amends the definition of “all-terrain vehicle” 
and further provides that for purposes of issuance of an off road decal for any off-road or all-terrain vehicle 
purchased on or before Dec. 31, 2013, the vehicle commissioner is authorized to provide a decal to a taxpayer 
who provides proof of payment of sales and use tax and a certificate of origin. Effective June 7, 2013. 

Act 271 [R.S. 47:305(D)(2)(a)] expands the exemption for patients and staff of hospitals to provide an 
exemption for the sale of meals furnished to staff and residents of nursing homes, adult residential care 
providers, and continuing care retirement communities. Effective June 13, 2013, however the provisions of the 
Act are retroactive. 

Act 300 [R.S. 47:301.1(F) and 305.71] creates a state sales tax exemption for construction materials purchased 
by the "St. Bernard Project, Inc." for use in rehabilitating existing residential dwellings or constructing new 
residential dwellings in the state. Further, provides for a one million annual dedication to Telecommunications 
Fund for the Deaf from the sales tax collected on telecommunications services. Effective July 1, 2013. 

Act 305 [R.S. 47: 301(10) (e)] Changes the requirement that the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
develop and promulgate guidelines regarding the definition of “raw agricultural commodities … to be utilized in 
preparing, finishing, manufacturing, or producing crops or animals for market” from a mandatory requirement to 
a permissive one. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 396 [R.S. 47:301(16) (b) (ii)] removes the dollar value threshold for the sales and use tax exclusion for gold, 
silver, numismatic coins, or platinum, gold, or silver bullion. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 425 [R.S. 47: 302(U), 306(A) (3) and 318(A)] reduces the vendor’s compensation from 1.1% to 0.935%. 
This Act also enacts R.S. 47:302(U), which authorizes the Secretary to employ means available to collect all 
taxes which may be due upon the sale by a remote seller of tangible personal property or services in Louisiana. 
R.S. 47:318(A) has been amended to change monies paid into the Marketing Fund and the Louisiana Economic 
Development fund to 4/10% of the amounts collected under Chapter 2, 2-A and 2-B and R.S. 51:1286 instead of 
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a percentage of vendor’s compensation. Effective July 1, 2013 and applicable to taxable transactions occurring 
on and after such date. 

Severance Tax 

Act 185 [R.S. 47:633(1), (2) and (3)] allows the Forestry Commission with permissive assistance from the 
Louisiana Tax Commission to determine the market value of trees, timber and pulpwood in December. The 
determined values are effective on the first day of January the following year and continue until the next 
succeeding January. In determining the value of the trees, timber and pulpwood, the Forestry Commission shall 
consider the timber sales as reported to the department and as published in the “Quarterly Report of Forest 
Products” by the La. Department of Agriculture. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Local Tax 

Act 122 amends and reenacts R.S. 33:130.166(B) (2) relative to the Grant Parish Economic and Industrial 
Development District and provides that food and drugs are specifically exempted from the tax under R.S. 47:305 
as it pertains to tax levied for the funding of the district. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 123 enacts R.S. 33:130.153(1) relative to the Grant Economic Development District to provide for the levy 
and collection of a sales & use tax within the district boundaries not to exceed 2%, if approved by a majority of 
the voters in the district. Effective June 5, 2013. 

Act 131 amends and reenacts R.S. 47:302.21(B) to provide that monies appropriated out of the Ascension Parish 
Visitor Enterprise Fund shall be distributed to and used by the parish governing authority of Ascension Parish 
and the governing authorities of each incorporated municipalities within Ascension Parish. Effective July 1, 
2013. 

Act 172 amends and reenacts R.S. 47:301(4) (g) (i) (bb) and 47:337.10(F) relative to East Feliciana Parish to 
exclude from sales of services repaired property delivered to a common carrier or to the U.S. Post Office for 
delivery outside the state or delivered outside the state by use of the repair dealer’s own vehicle or by use of an 
independent trucker. Effective July 1, 2013. 

Act 215 enacts R.S. 26:599 relative to local option elections in municipalities having a population of not less 
than 13,500 and not more than 16,500 in the latest federal decennial census may submit to the voters a 
proposition to determine whether or not alcoholic beverages may be sold in restaurants within the municipality. 
Effective June 10, 2013. 

Act 218 enacts R.S. 47:338.183.1 relative to sales and use taxes to authorize the levy of an additional sales & 
use tax not to exceed one half of 1% in parishes governed by a home rule charter and having a population 
between 115,000 and 125,000 in the latest federal decennial census, if approved by a majority of voters within 
that territorial jurisdiction of that parish.   It also enacts R.S.  47:338.196 relative to sales & use tax to authorize 
a school board of any parish with a population between 22,400 and 22,800 in the latest federal decennial census 
to levy and collect an additional sales & use tax not to exceed 1% within the territorial limits of the parish, if 
approved by a majority of the voters. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 243 amends and reenacts R.S. 33:4574.1(A) (11) relative to the Grant Parish Tourist Commission to provide 
that the commission may levy an additional tax, not to exceed 6%; if approved by majority of voters in Grant 
Parish. Effective June 12, 2013. 
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Act 245 enacts R.S. 47:338.64.1 relative to Iberville Parish which allows the governing authority to levy and 
collect an additional sales & use tax not in excess of 1% upon the sale at retail, use, lease, consumption, storage 
of tangible personal property and the sales of services in Iberville Parish, if approved by a majority of the voters 
in that parish. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 246 enacts R.S. 47:338.211 relative to the City of Youngsville to allow the city to levy and collect a tax 
upon the occupancy of hotel rooms within the city not to exceed 4%, if approved by a majority of the voters in 
the city. Effective August 1, 2013. 

Act 267 enacts R.S. 47:19.1 relative to political subdivisions to provide for procedures for the levy, increase, 
renewal or continuation of a tax or for calling an election for such purposes by a political subdivision. Effective 
August 1, 2013. 

Act 410 enacts R.S. 21:201 through 21:208 relative to hotels and lodgings to provide for the facilitation of 
private sector originated supplementary funds to market and promote the greater New Orleans as a traveler 
destination and to provide for increased economic activity within its traveler economy. Effective June 20, 2013. 


