RULE

Department of Revenue
Policy Services Division

Property Used in Interstate Commerce
(LAC 61:1.4420)

Under the authority of R.S. 47:305.50, R.S. 47:337.2, R.S.
47:337.9, and R.S. 47:1511, and in accordance with the
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950
et seq., the Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division,
amends LAC 61:1.4420 to provide guidance to taxpayers
concerning the sales and use tax exemptions provided by Act
209 of the 2007 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

Act 209 retains the existing exemption from sales tax for
trucks with a gross weight of 26,000 pounds or more and
associated trailers if the trucks are used at least 80 percent of
the time in interstate commerce. Act 209 amends R.S.
47:305.50 to provide that the determination of whether a
truck is used at least 80 percent in interstate commerce shall
be based solely on the actual mileage of such truck; however,
no truck shall have more than 20 percent Louisiana intrastate
miles.

Act 209 amends R.S. 47:305.50 to provide that the sales
and use taxes imposed by the state or any of its political
subdivisions shall not apply to the purchase, use, or lease of a
qualifying truck or purchase, use or lease of a qualifying
trailer purchased, imported, or leased, with or without
qualifying truck, for use with a qualifying truck.

Act 209 also provides that during a gubernatorially
declared state of emergency and if a taxpayer's emergency or
relief related efforts undermine the taxpayer's ability to
comply with the provisions of R.S. 47:305.50, then the
secretary shall waive requirements contained in R.S.
47:305.50.

This Rule sets forth the requirements relative to the
exemption from state and local sales and use taxes for trucks
and trailers and provides for administration of audits and
documents a taxpayer must retain to document eligibility for
the tax exemption and for waiver of the eligibility
requirements contained in R.S. 47:305.50 during a
gubernatorially declared state of emergency.
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A. R.S. 47:305.50(A)(1) provides an exemption from
state and local sales and use taxes for trucks with a gross
weight of 26,000 pounds or more and for trailers, if such
trucks and trailers are used at least 80 percent of the time in
interstate commerce and are subject to the jurisdiction of the
United States Department of Transportation. R.S. 47:305.50
allows certain taxpayers to register such trucks and trailers
and contract carrier buses with the Office of Motor Vehicles
of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections (OMV)
without paying state or local sales or use tax. R.S. 47:305.50
provides an exemption from state and local sales and use
taxes for the purchase, use or lease of qualifying trucks and

qualifying trailers, both of which have been purchased, used,
imported or leased. To qualify for the exemption, the
taxpayer's activities must be subject to the jurisdiction of the
United States Department of Transportation, and the taxpayer
must certify to the OMV that the property will be used at
least 80 percent of its actual mileage in interstate commerce.
The Department of Revenue and the OMV provide forms on
which to make these certifications.

B. Any taxpayer who claims the exemption in provided in
R.S. 47:305.50(A)(1) must maintain records of the use of the
property in order to document the actual mileage. This
exemption is for trucks with a gross weight of 26,000 pounds
or more and for trailers, if such trucks and trailers are used 80
percent of the time in interstate commerce and are subject to
the jurisdiction of the U.S. Department of Transportation. The
determination of whether a truck is used 80 percent of the
time in interstate commerce must be based upon the actual
mileage of such truck. It is required that a truck cannot have
more than 20 percent Louisiana intrastate miles.

1. If the documentation indicates that the property was
not used during the one-year period following the date of its
purchase for the required 80 percent or more of its actual
mileage in interstate commerce, the taxpayer will not qualify
for the exemption and state and local sales or use tax will be
due on the amount paid for the property at the rate that was
applicable on the date the property was purchased, plus
interest from the date the property was purchased to the date
of the tax payment. The state sales or use tax must be
reported on a sales tax return provided by the Department of
Revenue and paid to the Department of Revenue by the
twentieth day of the month following the end of the one-year
period in which the taxpayer fails to qualify for the
exemption. The local sales or use tax must be reported and
paid to the proper local taxing authority in accordance with
their ordinances and the Uniform Local Sales Tax Code.

a. Calculation of interstate mileage does not include
commercial truck transportation that begins at a point of
origin in a state other than Louisiana to a destination in the
same state. Guidance for the sales and use tax exemption
eligibility of trucks used in other states has been set forth in
Department of Revenue, Revenue Ruling 05-004. Revenue
Ruling 04-05 offers guidance as well, because it sets forth the
parameters in which intrastate movement of goods would be
considered interstate commerce/

b. Interstate mileage is based on the actual mileage
of the truck and must be proven through documentation such
as with driver's logs, motor carrier bills of lading, expense
bills, and other documentation reflecting the origin and
destination points of items transported.

2. If, during any of the following one-year periods, the
documentation indicates that the property was not used for
the required 80 percent or more of its actual mileage in
interstate commerce, the taxpayer will no longer qualify for
the exemption. If this occurs, state and local sales or use tax
will be due on the lesser of the purchase price or fair market
value of the property on the first day of the one-year period
that it does not meet the 80 percent test. The tax will be
calculated based on the rate in effect on the first day of the
one-year period in which the taxpayer no longer qualifies for
the exemption, plus interest from the date the tax is due to the
date of tax payment. The state sales or use tax must be



reported on a sales tax return provided by the Department of
Revenue and paid to the Department of Revenue by the
twentieth day of the month following the end of the one-year
period in which the taxpayer no longer qualifies for the
exemption. The local sales or use tax must be reported and
paid to the proper local taxing authority in accordance with
their ordinances and the Uniform Local Sales Tax Code.

C. If the taxpayer fails to provide proper documentation,
it will be presumed that the taxpayer does not qualify for the
exemption and state and local sales or use tax will be due in
accordance with Subsection B above.

D. R.S. 47:305.50(A)(2) provides an exemption from
state and local sales and use taxes on the purchase, use or
lease of a qualifying truck. The exemption also applies to the
purchase, use or lease of a qualifying trailer, which has been
purchased, imported or leased, with or without a qualifying
truck, for use with a qualifying truck. The definition of
qualifying truck and qualifying trailer are set forth as follows.

1. A Qualifying Truck meets the following
requirements:

a. registered as a Class | wvehicle, which is one
carrying or transporting freight, merchandise or other
property, and shall have a registered gross weight of at least
80,000 pounds in accordance with R.S. 47:462. Gross weight
is the weight of a vehicle or vehicle combination without the
load on all axles, including the steering axle plus the weight
of any load thereon as provided by R.S. 47:451;

b. subject to the jurisdiction of the U.S. Department
of Transportation;

c. will be or is registered with apportioned plates
through the International Registration Plan, or will be issued
or is issued a special permit according to provisions of R.S.
32:387(J) from the Department of Transportation and
Development. In cases of issuance of a special permit under
R.S. 32:387(J), the qualifying truck shall engage in no less
than 200 intermodal container moves per year, regardless of
whether or not the moves require a special permit. In the year
of acquisition, sale, disposal or destruction of the qualifying
truck, the number of intermodal container moves per year
shall be prorated for the portion of the year the truck was
owned, operated, or owned and operated by the taxpayer. R.S.
32:382(J) governs vehicles hauling prepackaged products in
international trade originating from or destined to an
intermodal facility, which such products are containerized in
a manner that they cannot be subdivided.

2. A Qualifying Trailer is one subject to the jurisdiction
of the U.S. Department of Transportation.

E. To obtain prior approval to audit or investigate, an
auditor shall submit a written justification, which may be
submitted via email, to the secretary. This approval is
required to:

1. audit or investigate for the purpose of determining
the correct amount of the tax exemption;

2. an audit or investigation of a place of business and
the books, records, papers, vouchers, accounts and documents
of any taxpayer;

3. approval from the secretary is not necessary for
political subdivisions to audit, examine, or investigate to
determine the correct amount of tax exemption.

F. During a state of emergency declared by the governor,
if the declared emergency or related relief efforts undermines

the ability of a taxpayer, who is eligible for the exemption
and the provisions under R.S. 47:305.50, to comply with this
statute, then secretary shall waive the requirements. However,
a waiver of the requirements should not affect the secretary's
ability to begin or conduct an audit or investigation.

G. The terms "trucks" and "trailers” shall have the
meaning ascribed to the terms truck, trailer, road tractor, semi
trailer, tandem truck, tractor and truck-tractor as defined in
R.S. 47:451.

H. The weights referred to in R.S. 47:305.50 are "gross
vehicle weight ratings" (GVWR), as determined by vehicle
manufacturers. Manufacturers' determinations of GVWR are
usually indicated on plates or decals affixed to vehicles at the
time of their manufacture.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
47:305.50, R.S. 47:337.2, R.S. 47:337.9, and R.S. 47:1511.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:188 (February 2003),
amended LR 31:97 (January 2005), LR 35:1254 (July 2009).

Cynthia Bridges
Secretary



